Why I did not choose Cwicly for my next big project…

Since a couple of months now I am struggling with the idea of getting this post out or keep my thoughts to my ‘safe’ self. Even when writing this I still have doubts but maybe somehow this writing and well thought comments by other users will provide the Cwicly team some insights which they might not have been aware of and may slow down the adoption of Cwicly. So… let’s get this started!

About me (relevant version)
Although I graduated in Public Relations, I am a full-time (Dutch) web designer/developer since 1996 so equipped with ancient stuff like html, CSS, SASS, PHP etc. Not an expert on all of these but I get around. I build or helped building more than 300 websites with various techniques/languages/systems. Currently I am focused on WordPress and familiar with builders like Elementor, Bricks and more lately Cwicly.

What is Cwicly to me (present)
In my opinion Cwicly is the best thing that has happened to WordPress in the last few years! In it’s almost two years of existence it managed to amaze professional web designers on an unprecedented technical level. I totally agree with the direction it’s heading: Gutenberg based is the future.
The Cwicly team is highly motivated, responsive to the community and helpful in any way. I really like the way the instructional videos became even more professional. I enjoy seeing a passionate Louis on a live stream while he shares some insights, functionalities and future directions. It makes me feel connected.

So, what’s the ‘problem’?
When building a website for a medium/large company they (management) are not focused on all the good technical stuff provided by the builder of choice. I don’t even bother telling them anymore because they expect me to make the right decision for them.
In deciding for a client which direction to go (concerning a ‘builder’) a few questions amongst obvious others* need to be answered:

1. Will the builder still be around in a few years?