Hook / functions.php Question

Hello. I’m seeking some advice from some more experienced WP / Cwicly users.

I’ve come across a minor issue regarding my site functionality today, and some of the solutions I have found are leading me to places unknown (to me!)

Simply put - my navbar has two separate links for ‘About’ and ‘Contact’ and I have a combined ‘about-contact’ page on my site. The upper section of the page (#about) contains About information and the lower section of the page (#contact) contains contact information.

The issue I am having is when the user navigates to exampleURL/about-contact/#contact via the navigation link - the about-contact page loads at the top and then scrolls down to the #contact section via the #about section.

Does anybody have any suggestions on the most efficient way for me to have the page load at the #contact section when the Contact link is selected?

I am new to Hooks, and the solutions I have found include me adding a script to functions.php (also new to me) - I have been advised to create a child theme first (not sure if this is necessary).

If anybody has any thoughts or suggestions it would be most appreciated!
Many thanks in advance :slight_smile:

Hi @Axlso,

If I understand what you are wanting and you are amenable to a quick solution via a plugin, this may help:

Alternatively, there are snippets that can be added using the code snippets plugin, if you don’t want to migrate to a child theme for any reason.

One important thing to remember is, make sure that your links are root relative, so that they work from all pages.

So rather than “#contact”, that link would need to be “/about-contact/#contact” for example.

Hi @StrangeTech,

Thanks very much for the response! I just checked out the plugin and I’m not sure it does exactly what I’m looking for, but it’s definitely worth a deeper look - thank you very much for sending!