Submenu disappearing when hover away from parent

Any guidance on how to solve this?

https://i.imgur.com/KhERaPP.gif

I am using the Header template part and the simple menu element. I am scratching my head for a couple of days to figure out what’s going on.

It is not possible to isolate the cause from the video alone, but the first thing I recommend checking is whether you have added any margin between the parent and nested menu item container.

Any gap with no blocks present inside the hover area will cause the menu to disappear because technically the mouse will be “over” the underlying page in that case.

Thank you for reply!

I a have defined a top: 40px through custom css on the dropdown to achieve the visual layout of the menu so to speak. On :hover I want the dropdown to be positioned at the edge of the black div as it appears in the video.

I am a newbie in web developing and I am trying to understand what I have to do to achieve what I am looking for.

This is how the Cwicly’s Navigator panel looks like:

I recommend changing this. Instead, make the main menu and the height of the buttons inside of it 100% of the dark div height.

This should give you the exact result you want without the gap.

I might be dumb or for some reason is not working.

I removed the top: 40px from dropdown and for the Menu element, under Design->Sizing->Height I added 100%. The dropdown menu is not aligned at the edge of the black div.

Also I do not see options for the buttons inside the Menu element. I mention that this is an element added from Cwicly and is not custom made by me. I don’t think I can control the styling of buttons from the interface. Maybe with some custom css to target the UL tag

There are two ways to ensure your menu is the height of the container:

1. Make the menu 100% the height of the container
  2. Make the container fit the height of the menu

Depending on your specific design, you can choose which one works best for you.