Templating in Cwicly kinda hurts

So I have been trying to create a basic Main template containing Header / Main / Footer sections.

There are bunch of questions that arised for me even though I am not a total beginner.

• Should I create a template part for header / footer?

• Or should I create a new fragment and apply a template part there?

• What is the difference between setting conditions inside fragments modal and inside a template part itself?

Besides that, the whole process of creating a templates and template parts was really a painful one.

After creating a new template part, that template part wasn’t displayed in Template parts. After countless reloading it finally appeared, with a bunch of other templates I deleted. Then they started to miss again.

On the front end, sometimes it was fetching the header template part, sometimes not. Other times, it was fetching a header template part I previously deleted.

I think there is a lot that can be done to streamline the template creation process. With a background of UI/UX designer, I’d be glad to help.

Everything could be so much easier…

Might be a good idea to reach out to WordPress/Gutenberg if you are really experiencing these bugs since they are the instigators of FSE.

Up to you really? Directly inside the template or with a template part or a fragment, it’s your workflow. Isn’t that how it works for every other builder?

Is this when you’ve applied conditions or not? This is the first time I’ve heard of such an issue so definitely something to look into since it sounds like something might be badly set up on your side.

Hey @Louis,

thanks for a response.

Please watch this video, where I explain it: AwesomeScreenshot-5/28/2022,12:57:08PM

In your video, you didn’t open the Index template.